On Cherries and Daisies

I love the taste of cherries.
Their strong stems and their swollen seeds.
Their color and their glimmer.
Like a reflecting ever-strong shield.

I never liked the daisies.
Ever since The Great Gatsby.
I fell out of love with roses.
When I realized I was taught nothing
about the remaining flower population
but color and scent.

I love the taste of cherries.
But their season here only lasts a month.
I guess the daisies are pretty.
I just need to stop remembering Fitzgerald’s narrative
of a character with the same name.

The daisies are everywhere
all year round.
They all think I should go around collecting daisies
rather than sit back sucking on my cherries.

But I love the taste of cherries.
And I don’t want to go liking daisies too much
for the fear they’ll make me forget
how all year round
I keep sucking at my taste buds
for the remaining taste
of cherries.

Leave a comment